A Day at the Pumpkin Patch

There is nothing better in this world than the first week of October!  The weather is still warm but with a slight chill, you put on all your most comfortable clothes, football season is in full swing, and there is an abundance of pumpkin-flavored foods.  This weekend was a great kick-off to my favorite month of the year.

First on Saturday I went out and bought an entire shopping cart of pumpkin/pumpkin spiced foods.  Ravioli, almond milk, pasta sauce, gnocchi, and my absolute favorite… macarons!  Then I managed to clean my entire apartment while watching The Nightmare Before Christmas.  In the afternoon I got together with my family and watched some football over a nice, warm meal of comfort food.

Today I woke up bright and early to my alarm.  I had a really hard time getting up, but managed to make it into my favorite Sunday morning spin class.  From there it was church, a stop for a quick lunch, then a fall-themed girl’s day!

I was so surprised when I pulled up to the pumpkin patch.  There was a farm, a gift shop, and of course a gigantic pumpkin patch.  The friend I went with brought her son with her, but he was fast asleep when we first arrived.  We decided to skip the animals until he woke up and went straight to the pumpkins.

20161002_214342

There were so many and they were gigantic.  We walked around picking out big ones and making plans for all the fun things we could carve into each one.  The little guy finally woke up and after about 45 minutes enjoying the beautiful, sunny day we headed back to the farm to look at the animals.

img_20161002_162034

Our first stop was the cows.  They were super friendly, especially when the farmer gave us permission to feed them.  However, they were also huge and kind of rowdy, which started to scare the 1-year old that was with us so we moved on to some smaller animals.

The calves and turkeys were a little bit more his speed.  He loved looking at them and playing with all of the pumpkins we had picked out.  It’s always so much fun to see the world through the eyes of a toddler!

So that was the end of my pumpkin patch adventure.  It felt so good to get out into the fresh air and spend some time with good friends.  I hope you all had a wonderful weekend too!  What did you do?

Eza

Leave a Reply

