Operation: Cozy

I know it has been a while since I last wrote, but I ended up with pneumonia.  😦  It’s been rough trying to get over it so most of my free time was spent in bed.  I’m starting to feel better and getting back into the swing of things.  I felt bad about not writing on here but it wouldn’t have been a very exciting post.

However, I did manage to have one really good adventure while I was gone.  Being cooped up in my apartment for so long I began to get a little stir crazy.  I decided to stop off at a local brewery one Sunday only to find the place PACKED.  I was very confused but also extremely curious.  As I was walking in I happened to run into a friend of mine who explained that it was a craft show.  I knew I had to go in and explore.

I’m so glad I did!  I saw such cool local crafts.  These two were some of my favorites because they were just so cute.  I didn’t buy anything but it was still fun to explore.  There were some really cool stands too.  This one caught my eye for obvious reasons…

img_20160828_174612-1

I wanted to take more pictures because there were so many details in this tent but I felt like the workers were annoyed by me.  I decided to respect them and move on.  But it was super fun to watch the juggler!  Anyone who knows me knows that I love creepy things, so a circus themed tent made me really excited.  As I got deeper into the festival I discovered that there was live music, plenty of places for outdoor seating to enjoy the last of the summer sun, and many of my friends from the area.

That was the only really exciting exploration that I did this past month.  I spent a lot of time working and recovering.  That brings me to today, when I’m much healthier and ready to go!  Lately I have been on a quest to get into the autumn spirit. Today was the first perfect fall day of the year.  It was dark and rainy, low 70’s, and just all around my favorite weather.

I started my day with a homemade pumpkin spice latte with coconut milk and some avocado toast with lox, chia seeds, hemp hearts, capers and caramelized onions.  I’ve been trying to perfect the art of a good homemade latte.  Today was by far the best one I’ve ever made.

img_20160905_173621-1

After that I did some chores around my home then it was off to watch the football game!  Of course my 2 favorite things about fall are orchards and football.  My family has a ritual of going to a specific local sports bar to watch the games.  It’s convenient that my best friend and his family also have the same ritual, so we always get to watch the game together.  It was great to be surrounded by friends and family, watching my team win (Go Blue!) and eating some delicious comfort food.  I got lasagna with garlic bread.  I know it’s not very good for you, but football Saturdays are always a special occasion.

I left at half time because I wanted to beat the post-game traffic of living in a college town.  I spent the next hour or so getting more chores done and finally got to go home.  I just finished painting my nails a festive orange and am currently snuggled up on the couch with a warm, comfy blanket, a pot of apple cinnamon tea, and watching some of my favorite scary movies.  I just finished Paranormal Activity and have moved on to The Conjuring.  I also left all my windows as wide open as possible to get the cool, fresh air and listen to the children playing outside.  How could anyone NOT love fall?!  Let me know your favorite fall movies.

Happy autumn everyone!

Eza

Leave a Reply

