Lazy Sunday

Today is the first day of documenting my life online.  It’s really for myself as a creative outlet, but maybe someday someone else will see it.  This blog is inspired by my idol, Marzia Bisognin.  Her blogs and YouTube channel are my own goals for how to live fully.  If these blog posts are interesting to you, I highly recommend you check her out as well.  Anyways, onto my story.

Sundays are my only day completely to myself.  I work 6 days/week, so I have to take full advantage of my free time.  Today I decided to do something I’ve never done before… check out a vintage store.  I didn’t even know if there was one in my area so as soon as I woke up I got online and started my research.  As it turns out, there is one called Found right next to one of my favorite restaurants.  It was pretty obvious what that meant for me… time to explore and sit down to a nice vegan brunch!

As soon as I walked into Found I knew it was exactly what I was looking for.  There were so many cool things to look through that I didn’t even know where to start.  But I had come in with a mission.  Marzia recently posted a blog about finding old post cards at a vintage store and spending time solving the mysteries of the post card.  I figured that would be a great way to spend a quiet evening one of these days.  I looked around and eventually found an entire table full of old post cards .

It took me quite a while to pick which ones I wanted to buy, but then one stood out to me.  It is from a woman named Edna to her friend Alice and the first line says, “Hey girlie.”  I knew instantly Edna was my kind of girl.  Mind you, this was written sometime between 1907 and 1952 (I’ll explain why in my blog post about my research), so to see the phrase “Hey girlie” written out between two friends so long ago made me smile.

After I made my purchase I moved on to brunch.  There were so many options I could barely decide, but ended up getting a breakfast burrito bowl.  It was absolutely delicious!  Since the weather was so lovely today I decided to sit outside while I ate and ended up getting a surprise concert.  There was a children’s band in the courtyard singing and dancing with a group of kids and their parents.  I loved watching the kids have a blast and I’m not going to lie… the music was actually pretty catchy.  I caught myself bopping along to the music too.

When I was done eating I decided on one more stop before I headed back to my apartment.  I have recently become obsessed with macarons, which considering I generally dislike desserts means they’re really something special.  So I stopped off at the local tea shop for some strawberry lavender iced tea and a few dirty chai macarons to go.  I haven’t tasted them yet, but I sure am eyeballing them pretty hard core right now.

Right now I’m sitting with my tea and a candle, listening to some great music and starting this blog.  I’m so excited for this journey and to share it with you (eventually).  Tonight I’m planning to see a movie with my best friend, so I should probably go get ready for that.  Thanks for listening.

Lots of love,

Eza

Leave a Reply

